The Remembrance Day is observed in the Commonwealth member countries. The day is dedicated in honour of remembering the fearless souls of the armed forces who lost their lives in the line of duty during the First World War. The day of November 11 is marked as a memorial of the end of hostilities of warfare. The conflict ended with the signing of the Armistice agreement on the 11th November, 1918 at 11:00 am – the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month. And so, November 11. However, the First World War officially ended on 28th June, 1919 after signing of the Treaty of Versailles; the treaty that brought peace by ending the War.

The “poppy” is the symbol of the Remembrance Day and that is why, it is informally known as the “Poppy Day”.

The Tradition

The tradition was inaugurated by King George V in 1919. Since it was first observed in Buckingham Palace to commemorate the Armistice agreement, it was originally known as the “Armistice Day”.

The name of this holiday was altered during the Second World War. It was changed to “Remembrance Day” in many countries. On the other hand, the US adopted the name “Veterans Day” as an honour to the military veterans in 1954.

On this day, the ceremonies for remembrance are carried out at war memorials and churches in the Commonwealth nations.

Some Facts

  • From 1921 to 1930, the Armistice Day was observed on Mondays of the week in which November 11 fell
  • Later, this day was also marked as the remembrance for the honour of martyrs of Second World War
  • The first two minutes silence was observed in 1919, Britain
  • King George V called for the two minutes silence along with the public at 11:00 am
  • In many nations, people still observe a minute of silence, every year on 11th November
  • There are 54 member states in the Commonwealth of Nations
  • Many Non-Commonwealth Nations like France, Belgium and Poland also observe the 11th November as the Remembrance Day

Read More From Us: